Today I see love to be … (2)

Today my perceptions on love have grown, expanded and I am confident it will continue to evolve as I focus on my own growth. IMG_20160410_202115

Today I finished reading “Silence” by Thich Nhat Hanh, a lovely book on how to bring silence within yourself to gain the ability of deep listening and cultivate healthier connection with yourself and with people around you.

To love a person is to listen to them, but in order to truly listen to another person we must have silence within our own mind – no preconceptions, no expected accusations, no prepared defensive attitude.

To love a person is to truly listen to them, to their words and the silence between the words. Listening to that silence is just as important as listening to the words, without it would be impossible to hear the music their heart is singing. Sometimes is happy, but many times that silence can hide pain and fear.

To love a person is to show them that he/she isn’t alone in that silent pain. To love a person is to create a safe space where he/she can be vulnerable. Without vulnerability you cannot nurture a deeper connection.

To love a person is to nurture that connection and to look together in the same direction. During conflict the direction should be towards the problem and not towards each other.

Today I see love as something you must give without thinking whether you’ll receive it back. Today I see love as a gift you must send into the world. For yourself, for the person you love and for the entire universe.

Today I see that you must work through your fear that the love you send is lost and not received, lost and misunderstood, lost and unappreciated. Love and fear are incompatible, so if you want the love you send to be genuine you should give it without fear.

Today I believe that love you send is never lost. Even if you might not receive it back from the same person. Sending out love should be your main source of joy and, don’t worry, the universe will take care of the echo. Trust that echo.

Today I see love to be the thing that makes people beautiful. Today I see love to be the very essence of our life.

Today I see love to be the best thing we do.

Leave a comment