A happy place makes you stronger

Every person has a best way to deal with their irrational fears and sadness. I have my happy place. We all have one, regardless if we acknowledge it or not.  I chose to use it.

My happy place is in the arms of person I love. Whenever I feel scared or sad, I just close my eyes and focus on the sweet smell and slight touch of his hug until I feel better. And it always works.

Actually it works so well for me that I have three happy places. Because although the first is the strongest one, it’s also the most unstable.

My 2nd happy place is anywhere I haven’t been before. I’m curious and what keeps me alive and positive is going to new places, meeting new people and hearing new stories. Feeling their culture and being so different from them helps me to get to know myself better. So yeah…traveling is my second key.

My 3rd happy place is the future.  My future home.
 A house where I can write poems on the walls as the rhymes come into my head. A big kitchen where I can cook anything I want.
An ice-cream machine to make all the crazy ice-cream flavours I create.
 A small garden in the back with many flowers and two trees that will support my hammock.
A big hammock where I can enjoy the sun and the smell of the garden.
A barbeque setting in a corner of the garden where I  invite my friends over and create happy memories. 
A dog, a golden retriever, running around the house and jumping happily every time I come back from work  as if I was gone for weeks and a lazy cat with an attitude sitting on the couch 😛
My paradise. 

Future can be scary but that’s just because we’re afraid of the unknown. But if we allow it to make us dream, it can become exciting, full of possibilities and it always brings hope. That’s why this is my oldest happy place where I go when I’m sad. It gives me hope. It helps me to keep in mind my purpose and not get stuck in stupid traps set on my way to where I want to get or who I want to be with.

So find your happy place and keep it with you all the time.  And you’ll be stronger, you’ll have an anchor to hold on to when life gets hard, when things you can’t predict happen.

When you need hope to move on and keep trying, go to your happy place and take your energy and motivation from it. 

Leave a comment